Key contacts

Nicki Webber, University of Melbourne Media Manager | | 0411 758 984

Louise Bennet, University of Melbourne Media Advisor | | 0412 975 350

Troy Hunter, Manager, Engagement and Marketing, Melbourne Law School | | 03 8344 8788

News and images

A winning political vision

Dean Smith and Vonda Malone are the inaugural winners of the McKinnon Prize for Political Leadership, a new, non-partisan award recognising courageous, visionary and collaborative political leadership

Julia Gillard: On women

Former Prime Minister Julia Gillard looks at her legacy as Australia’s first female PM on women’s equality.

John Howard: On gun control

The new McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership aims to recognise political leaders who have driven positive change. Former Prime Minister John Howard looks back at his legacy on gun control.

For enquiries contact the Melbourne School of Government:


The McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership is a collaboration between the Susan McKinnon Foundation and the University of Melbourne through the Melbourne School of Government.


University of Melbourne logo
Susan McKinnon Foundation logo