27 November 2017

Image: Irene Lorbergs

Prize launched in Canberra

Vice-Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, Professor Glyn Davis, and Co-Founder of the Susan McKinnon Foundation, Mr Grant Rule, launched the McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership in the Parliament of Australia today.

The prize seeks to recognise courageous, visionary and collaborative political leadership across all tiers of Australian government. In a speech at the launch, Professor Davis said, “We believe these inspirational leaders exist, and that now is the time to shine a light on what they are doing. This what the McKinnon Prize will achieve.”

The Vice-Chancellor will chair the inaugural selection panel, which also includes former Prime Ministers Julia Gillard and John Howard, as well as distinguished business, political, education and sporting leaders.

Nominations are now open for the inaugural year of the prize.

The McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership is a collaboration between the Susan McKinnon Foundation and the University of Melbourne.

Privacy Collection Notice

University of Melbourne logo
Susan McKinnon Foundation logo