30 June 2022

Arden Barker
Porter Novelli
M 0408 715 171
E abarker@porternovelli.com.au

2021 McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership winners celebrated at Oration

The winners of the 2021 McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership, former Speaker and member for Casey the Hon. Tony Smith MP and Mayor of Ipswich Teresa Harding, were celebrated at the 2021 McKinnon Prize Oration on 28 June 2022.

Journalist Patricia Karvelas hosted an “In Conversation” with the winners, who shared wide ranging reflections on political leadership in Australia. A focus of the discussion was on Mr Smith’s previous work in upholding Parliamentary standards and ensuring bipartisan Parliamentary accountability within Parliament, and Mayor Harding’s demonstrated achievements and commitment to transparency and public accountability in political institutions.


The McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership is a collaboration between the Susan McKinnon Foundation and the University of Melbourne.

Privacy Collection Notice

University of Melbourne logo
Susan McKinnon Foundation logo