On behalf of Australia

The McKinnon Prize celebrates political leaders that have driven positive change in our society.

Nominate now

What is the Prize?

McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership recognises politicians who have successfully tackled vital issues of public policy, overcome adversity and achieved real change for the public good. It seeks to inspire others to pursue courageous and visionary political leadership despite the challenges they may face.

Who can win?

Elected members of local, state or federal government in Australia who have held office in 2019 are eligible for the prize. Each year, two prizes are awarded. Long serving politicians with over five years in office are eligible for the McKinnon Political Leader of the Year. The McKinnon Emerging Political Leader of the Year will shine a light on a recently elected politician with less than five years in office.

Who can nominate?

Anyone. If you have witnessed the bold and courageous action of an eligible political leader and believe they deserve recognition, you should submit a nomination. Self-nominations are also permitted.

How do I nominate?

To nominate someone for the prize, you will need to complete a nomination form online by 5 December 2019. See here for tips to nominate.

When should I nominate? 

Nomination period starts on 1 October 2019 and finishes on 5 December 2019. 

When will the winners be announced?

Winners of the 2019 McKinnon Prize will be announced in February/March 2020. 

Recognise actions, not titles.

It’s time to celebrate our political leaders for the actions they have taken to make Australia better.

Nominate nowRemind me to nominate later

The McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership is a collaboration between the Susan McKinnon Foundation and the University of Melbourne.

Privacy Collection Notice

University of Melbourne logo
Susan McKinnon Foundation logo