Image of Laura Tingle

Hon Julia Gillard AC

Julia Gillard was sworn in as the 27th Prime Minister of Australia on 24 June 2010 and served in that office until June 2013. Ms Gillard is the first woman to serve as Australia’s Prime Minister or Deputy Prime Minister. Following her departure from politics, Julia became an honorary visiting professor at the University of Adelaide, and a non-resident senior fellow at the Brookings Institution’s Center for Universal Education.

She has been on the board of the mental health organisation Beyond Blue since December 2014 and its chair since July 2017. Julia has also served as the chairwoman of the Global Partnership for Education since February 2014 and will become Chair of the Wellcome Trust in April 2021.

Return to Selection Panel.

The McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership is a collaboration between the Susan McKinnon Foundation and the University of Melbourne.

Privacy Collection Notice

University of Melbourne logo
Susan McKinnon Foundation logo