The McKinnon Prize for 2023 recognises the outstanding leadership of elected representatives who have driven positive impact through their vision, collaboration, courage and ethical behaviour this year.

The McKinnon Prize now recognises outstanding leadership in three categories:

  • McKinnon Political Leader of the Year - Federal
  • McKinnon Political Leader of the Year - State / Territory
  • McKinnon Emerging Political Leader of the Year

Nominations for the 2023 McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership closed in November 2023. Shortlisting and selection took place in January and February 2024, and the recipients have now been announced.


2023 McKinnon Political Leader of the Year Recipients

Senator David Pocock

McKinnon Emerging Political Leader of the Year

Senator David Pocock of the ACT has been named McKinnon Emerging Political Leader of the Year 2023 for his values-driven approach to handling his balance of power position in the Senate and commitment to genuinely listening to and appraising competing perspectives.  Senator Pocock was also shortlisted in 2022 for McKinnon Emerging Political Leader of the Year.

Read More >

Bridget Archer MP

McKinnon Political Leader of the Year - Federal

Bridget Archer MP, Federal Member for Bass, has been named the 2023 Federal Political Leader of the Year for consistently demonstrating rare courage in standing up for her principles and the interests of her constituents, even when this has put her at odds with her party. Bridget Archer was also shortlisted in 2022 for McKinnon Political Leader of the Year. 

Read More >

Premier Chris Minns and Premier Dominic Perrottet

McKinnon Political Leader of the Year - State and Territory

The Hon. Chris Minns MP, Premier of NSW and The Hon. Dominic Perrottet MP, former Premier of NSW, have been named joint recipients of the first McKinnon Prize for State/Territory Political Leader of the Year, for their civil conduct and respectful leadership during the 2023 State Election Campaign.

Read More >

2023 McKinnon Prize Selection Panel

Dr Martin Parkinson AC PSM (Chair)

Chancellor of Macquarie University
Read More >

Luke Achterstraat

CEO of the Council of Small Business Organisations Australia (COSBOA)
Read More >

Peta Credlin AO

Political Commentator at Sky News Australia
Read More >

Georgie Harman

Chief Executive Officer, Beyond Blue
Read More >

Dr Alan Finkel AC

Chair of Stile Education, Chair of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Quantum Biotechnology
Read More >

Tanya Hosch

Executive General Manager of Inclusion and Social Policy, Australian Football League
Read More >

Patricia Karvelas

Host of RN Breakfast, ABC Radio
Read More >

Prof. Renee Leon PSM

Vice Chancellor and President, Charles Sturt University
Read More >

Cathy McGowan AO

Chair, AgriFutures
Read More >

The Hon. Arthur Sinodinos AO

Partner & Chair of Australia Practice, The Asia Group
Read More >

Ashleigh Streeter-Jones

Founder & CEO of Raise Our Voice Australia (ROVA)
Read More >

David Thodey AO

Chairman, Xero and Ramsay Healthcare
Read More >

The Hon Jay Weatherill AO

Director of Public Affairs, Minderoo Foundation
Read More >

2023 McKinnon Prize Shortlisting Committee

Michael Brennan (Chair)

CEO of the E61 Institute
Read More >

Anthony Benscher

Managing Director, Barton Deakin
Read More >

Wendy Black

Head of Policy, Business Council of Australia
Read More >

Phillip Coorey

Political Editor at the Australian Financial Review
Read More >

David Cross

Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice Chancellor, UNSW
Read More >

Emma Dawson

Executive Director of Per Capita
Read More >

Ryan Liddell

Managing Partner, Principle Advisory
Read More >

Shayne Mallard

Director City Futures, Liverpool City Council
Read More >

The Hon Bronwyn Pike AM

CEO of Uniting Vic.Tas
Read More >

Cr Nicholas Reece

Deputy Lord Mayor of Melbourne, Principal Fellow with Melbourne School of Government at The University of Melbourne
Read More >

John Scales

Founder of JWS Research
Read More >

Lenore Taylor

Editor, Guardian Australia
Read More >