The McKinnon Prize is awarded each year from a pool of nominations through a rigorous and transparent two-tier selection process.

By assembling a unique judging panel drawn from across the political spectrum the McKinnon Prize proves that genuine consensus is actually possible in the modern era.

The McKinnon Prize is judged by a unique panel of prominent and accomplished Australians representing the breadth of the political spectrum.

Members of the McKinnon Prize Shortlisting Committee and Selection Panel are jointly appointed by the Susan McKinnon Foundation and the University of Melbourne. Each body functions as custodian of the McKinnon Prize and is responsible for shortlisting or selecting the overall recipients of the McKinnon Prize (as relevant).

Despite their widely divergent political views, our judges recognise leaders who work collaboratively to pursue their vision for Australia; leaders who build trust; leaders who inspire others; and leaders who contribute to quality policy and quality governance.

The McKinnon Prize Shortlisting Committee and Selection Panel for 2023 has just been announced.

Nominations  for the McKinnon Prize 2023 are now open.

McKinnon Prize Selection Panels


Catherine Livingstone AO FAA FTSE (Chair)

Chancellor of University of Technology Sydney
Read More >

The Hon John Brumby AO

Former Premier of Victoria
Read More >

Professor Tom Calma AO

Chancellor of University of Canberra
Read More >

Peta Credlin AO

Political Commentator at Sky News Australia
Read More >

Caitlin Figueiredo

Co-Chair of the Australian Youth Affairs Coalition
Read More >

Dr Alan Finkel AC

Former Chief Scientist of Australia
Read More >

The Hon Kelly O’Dwyer

former Cabinet Minister and member of the Australian Parliament
Read More >

Dr Martin Parkinson AC PSM

Chancellor of Macquarie University
Read More >

Annika Smethurst

State Political Editor at The Age
Read More >

Doug Taylor

CEO of The Smith Family
Read More >

Dr Julie Wells

Vice-President (Strategy and Culture) at The University of Melbourne
Read More >