Nominations are now closed for 2021

2021 selection criteria

The Selection Panel will be looking for stories of real impact and achievement where peoples’ lives were made better through a nominee’s:

  • Innovative, far-sighted vision to solve important public policy problems
  • Ability to cross partisan divides, build coalitions and collaborate to achieve positive outcomes
  • Courage and bravery to overcome formidable opposition and stand up for a worthy principle, regardless of risks to their career
  • Honest, compassionate and ethical behaviour that inspires public confidence.
  • In times of crises or instability, responding with decisive and well-informed decision-making, and strong communication. 

Nominees may have demonstrated at least one of these selection criteria through their current role on one significant public policy issue, or through multiple achievements.

Nominations that will stand out are those that provide clear and compelling examples of impact and positive change.

2021 eligibility

Nominees must be an elected member of a local, state or federal government.

Nominees must have held office in 2021:

  • Nominees for McKinnon Political Leader of the Year must have been elected to their current position prior to 1 January 2017.
  • Nominees for McKinnon Emerging Political Leader of the Year must have been elected to their current position on or after 1 January 2017.

Self-nominations will be accepted.

Prizes will not be awarded posthumously.

Nominees cannot be considered in both prize categories in the same year, but can be considered for recognition in a separate category in subsequent years.

In circumstances where the length of service of a nominee is unclear due to a break in service or a move to a different level of government, the Shortlisting Committee and the Selection Panel reserve the right to determine that any nominees be considered in a different prize category than the one for which they were originally nominated, and will consider the nomination against the relevant selection criteria for that prize.

Unsuccessful nominees may be re-nominated in subsequent years.

Group nominations are not eligible. However, the selection panel reserves the right to award multiple nominees when collective action has been demonstrated.

No weight will be given to the number of times a person is nominated.

The McKinnon Prize in Political Leadership is a collaboration between the Susan McKinnon Foundation and the University of Melbourne.

Privacy Collection Notice

University of Melbourne logo
Susan McKinnon Foundation logo